Earthen Return [Spring 2011]

March 12, 2015 § Leave a comment

10453428_10152561564820229_4793551344239187726_n

lay my bones ‘neath rock and root
where songbirds call, and owls hoot
where river meets the ancient trees
where children dance in leaf-strewn breeze
between the meadow and the oaks
and in the hearts of kindred folks

lay my bones ‘neath rain and ash
where tree and lake and hillside clash
into the caverns, woods and seas
where dwell the feral refugees

lay my bones ‘neath dirt and brush
and when I finally pass on, hush

let me fade
all the way
back into the wild

[Poem inspired by Wolves In the Throne Room’s song:
I Will Lay Down My Bones Among The Rocks And Roots“]

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Earthen Return [Spring 2011] at hastenthedownfall.

meta

